The Special Meeting of Macon Township was held on Monday, July 24, 2023 at 7p.m. with Supervisor, Dean Montief presiding. Roll call: Dean Montrief: present, Julia DeJonghe Marshall: present, Beth DeJonghe: present, Joe Rine: present, Charles Downing: present. The Pledge of Allegiance was said.

Important Dates: Regular Township Meeting August 7, 2023 at 7p.m.

Public Comment:

Nancy Peltcs – 8880 Smith Rd. – Public comment was heard regarding the FOIA appeal. Scott Aughney – Jackson County resident – Public comment was heard regarding the FOIA appeal. Mark Nichols – Adams Township Recent Supervisor – Public comment was heard regarding the FOIA appeal.

Matt Wisney- Raisin Charter Township resident - Public comment was heard regarding the FOIA appeal.

Supervisor Dean Montrief read the following:

On June 1, 2023, Ms. Peltcs requested a "copy of the extract files from the electronic poll books for all registrants at all voting precincts in the jurisdiction for the elections concluding November 8, 2022 and May 2, 2023."

On June 6, 2023, the Township denied the FOIA request for safety and security concerns.

Ms. Peltcs has now appealed.

The Township does not have or maintain the requested information from the elections. The Electronic Pollbook ("EPB") was removed and deleted from all Township devices within 7 days following the final canvass and certification of the election as required by the Bureau of Elections. So, the appeal must be denied because the Township doesn't have the EPB. To the extent she is seeking other EPB data, the disclosure of electronic pollbook information, regardless of the type of storage device, would impact the safety and security of the Township's voting systems. As a result, that information is exempt from disclosure.

Dean Montrief moved, seconded by Julia DeJonghe Marshall to deny the appeal. Discussion. Roll call: Dean Montrief: yes; Julia DeJonghe Marshall: yes; Beth DeJonghe: yes; Joe Rine: yes; Charles Downing: yes. Motion carried.

Dean Montrief moved, seconded by Julia DeJonghe Marshall to adjourn the meeting at 7:17p.m. Motion carried.

Respectfully submitted,

Julia DeJonghe Marshall

Julia De Jonghe Mawhall

Clerk

Macon Township

Guests: 16